70 Leek Crescent Richmond Hill, ON L4B 1H1

ECC EIFS Design Awards Program 2018-19

EIFS Council of Canada announces ECC Architectural Design Awards Program Grand Prize Winner!

> View the Press Release

The EIFS Council of Canada has made an electronic version of our 2018-19 Architectural Design Awards Program Commemorative Book available for download:

> View the Commorative Book

About the Awards Program

The EIFS Council of Canada is proud to announce the 2018-2019 Architectural Design Awards to honour design professionals and firms which incorporate EIFS products into innovative and creative built projects. The goal of this Award is to create a new benchmark in EIFS construction.

The Awards Program is open to all architects, architectural firms, builders or design professionals that have designed and completed a building located in Canada which utilizes EIFS.

All Award recipients will be named in a Press Release and featured in articles submitted to prominent Canadian architectural and construction publications. There will be one Grand Award winner with honourable mentions across each category. Award recipients will be honoured at the ECC 2018 Conference and Awards Reception. The ECC Conference is an event that brings together leading EIFS industry experts and stakeholders for an evening of networking, discussion and industry updates.

The Awards program is presided over by a jury panel of esteemed industry experts from a variety of backgrounds. Previous jurors have included prominent architects, architecture critics, and building scientists from across Canada.

Photos, Press Releases and information on all the previous years’ Grand Prize Winners and Finalists can be found in our Finalists Gallery and Press Releases section.

Schedule of Key Dates

i. Awards launch: November 26th, 2018

ii. Deadline for registration: January 31st, 2019

iii. Deadline for submissions: April 12th, 2019, 11:59 PM

iv. Finalists announcement: May 6th, 2019

v. Date of Awards Ceremony: EIFS AGM – June 12, 2019

vi. Deadline for RSVPs: May 30th, 2019

Eligibility Criteria

Project Categories eligibility criteria, with reference to the National Building Code

General criteria:

  • Project must be occupied no sooner than January 1st, 2017 and no later than January 31st, 2019.
  • Project must be occupied by the time of submission
  • Project opaque walls must be comprised of more than 50% EIFS
  • Project site and building must be physically located in Canada
  • Project must not be a previous EIFS Architectural Design Awards Finalist or Winner

Low rise residential:

  • Project must be within the scope of Part 9 of Division B of the NBC and be used or intended to be used residential occupancy

High rise residential:

  • Project must within the scope of Part 3 of Division B of the NBC and be used or intended to be used residential occupancy


  • Project must be within the scope of Part 9 or Part 3 and be used or intended to be used business and personal services OR mercantile occupancy


  • Project must be constructed in compliance with the NBC and be used or intended to be used for assembly occupancy


  • Project must be constructed in compliance with the local building code
  • Project must be a recladding of an existing building

If an addition was added to an existing building and new floor area was added, the project would not be eligible for the renovation category, but would be eligible for the appropriate category above)

Submission Guidelines

  • All submissions must be in an electronic format
  • All submissions must contain two (2) PDF files:
    • Drawing set
    • One-page summary and photo set
  • All submissions must include a full set of architectural drawings including, but not limited to:
    • Site plans, floor plans, elevations, sections
    • Key details involving EIFS
    • Specification list
  • Photo set guidelines:
    • All submissions must include colour photography of the building
    • Photos of the project from different elevations
    • Photos of the site that shows the project in its immediate context
    • Photo resolution should be 180 dpi or higher
    • All submissions should be 8.5 x 11” format submitted online
    • Sixteen (16) single-sided pages maximum or 8 double sided pages
  • All submissions must include a separate (1) 8.5 x 11” page summary
  • A project can be submitted to one (1) category only. You may submit multiple different projects.