70 Leek Crescent Richmond Hill, ON L4B 1H1

EIFS Design Awards Program 2017-18

The 2017-2018 EIFS Architectural Design Awards Finalists have been announced!   >>> Read the announcement here


The EIFS Council of Canada is proud to announce the 2017-2018 Architectural Design Awards to honour design professionals and firms which incorporate EIFS products into innovative and creative built projects. The goal of this Award is to create a new benchmark in EIFS construction.

The Awards Program is open to all architects, architectural firms, builders or design professionals that have designed and completed a building located in Canada which utilizes EIFS.

The Awards program is presided over by a jury panel of esteemed industry experts from a variety of backgrounds. Previous jurors included Alex Bozikovic (The Globe and Mail), Robert J. Dyck (Robert J Dyck Architect & Engineer Inc.), Dr. Ted Kesik (Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design, University of Toronto), Joe Somfay (IBI Group) and Dr. John Straube (Faculty of Architecture, University of Waterloo, RDH Building Science Inc.)

All Award recipients will named in a Press Release and featured in articles submitted to prominent Canadian architectural and construction publications. There will be one Grand Award winner with honourable mentions across each category. Award recipients will be honoured at the ECC 2018 Conference and Awards Reception. The ECC Conference is an event that brings together leading EIFS industry experts and stakeholders for an evening of networking, discussion and industry updates.

Last year, projects were submitted from across Canada. Our Award recipients were celebrated and honoured at the ECC Conference and Awards Dinner and reception in Toronto. Photos, Press Releases and information on all the Finalists can be found in our Finalists Gallery and Press Releases section.

Schedule of Key Dates

  1. Awards launch: October 2nd 2017
  2. Deadline for submissions: April 7th 2018
  3. Finalists announcement: April 30th, 2018
  4. Date of Awards Ceremony: EIFS AGM in June 13th, 2018

Eligibility Criteria

Project Categories eligibility criteria, with reference to the National Building Code

General criteria:
• Project must be occupied no sooner than January 1st, 2016 and no later than January 31st, 2018.
• Project must be occupied by the time of submission
• Project opaque walls must be comprised of more than 50% EIFS
• Project site and building must be physically located in Canada
• Project must not be a previous EIFS Architectural Design Awards Finalist or Winner

Low rise residential:
• Project must be within the scope of Part 9 of Division B of the NBC and be used or intended to be used residential occupancy

High rise residential:
• Project must within the scope of Part 3 of Division B of the NBC and be used or intended to be used residential occupancy

• Project must be within the scope of Part 9 or Part 3 and be used or intended to be used business and personal services OR mercantile occupancy

• Project must be constructed in compliance with the NBC and be used or intended to be used for assembly occupancy

• Project must be constructed in compliance with the local building code
• Project must be a recladding of an existing building
• If an addition was added to an existing building and new floor area was added, the project would not be eligible for the renovation category, but would be eligible for the appropriate category above)

Submission Guidelines

  • All submissions must be in an electronic format
  • All submissions must include a full set of architectural drawings including, but not limited to:
    • Site plans, floor plans, elevations, sections
    • Key details involving EIFS
    • Specification list
  • All submissions must include colour photography of the building. Including but not limited to:
    • Photos of the project from different elevations
    • Photos of the site that shows the project in its immediate context
  • All submissions should be in 8.5 x11” format and (16) single-sided pages maximum
  • All submissions should include a separate (1) 8.5 x 11” page summary